Audit Active Directory

Reduce attack surface and prevent risks!

ACTIVE DIRECTORY AUDIT

formation MIC01 AD

Microsoft Active Directory is a central brick of the information system of most companies. An Active Directory domain controller is a prime target for an attacker, since compromising it will provide access to corporate resources. Whether in the context of an audit, or following a proven compromise, analysis of DBA security is essential and must be applied on a recurring basis.

It reduces the area of attack and prevents the risk of abuse, in particular the escalation of privilege and the persistence of an attacker within the information system.
This specific audit offered by Synetis combines a configuration audit with an offensive Active Directory audit.

The security audit of the Active Directory environment is carried out according to the “configuration audit” approach, i.e. the auditor is in possession of a privileged access account to the domain, with the aim of verifying the configuration and determining whether the technical implementation of the target environment complies with good security practices and presents no risk to the information system.

In parallel with the configuration audit, the offensive approach is carried out at the same time, and consists of a black-box part (without user account), followed by a grey-box part (with user account). For this work, Synetis will seek, as an illustration, to implement MitM attacks by LLMNR/NBNS or DHCPv6 poisoning, to carry out lateral displacements, to raise its privileges etc.

The approach proposed by Synetis (configuration auditing work in parallel with offensive AD tests) allows a detailed analysis of the configuration of the Active Directory, Domain Controllers, GPOs, services, AD structure, permissions and privilege accounts, etc.

At the end of this analysis, a precise roadmap can be drawn up to significantly increase the overall security of the Active Directory domain audited.

Protection and monitoring of si

Our Audit experts
answer your questions

These articles may be of interest to you:

Audit Active Directory

Microsoft Active Directory est une brique centrale du système d’information de la plupart des entreprises. Un contrôleur de domaine Active Directory constitue une cible privilégiée pour un attaquant puisque sa compromission fournira à celui-ci un accès aux ressources de l’entreprise. Que ce soit dans un contexte d’audit ou suite à une compromission avérée, l’analyse de la sécurité de l’AD est essentielle et doit être appliquée de façon récurrente.

Elle permet de réduire la surface d’attaque et de prévenir les risques d’abus, notamment l’escalade de privilège et la persistance d’un attaquant au sein du système d’information.

Cet audit spécifique regroupe un audit de configuration combiné avec un audit offensif de l’Active Directory.

L’audit de sécurité de l’environnement Active Directory est réalisé selon l’approche « audit de configuration » c’est-à-dire que l’auditeur est en possession d’un compte d’accès privilégié au domaine dans l’objectif de vérifier le paramétrage et de déterminer si l’implémentation technique de l’environnement cible est conforme aux bonnes pratiques de sécurité et ne présente pas de risque pour le système d’information.

En parallèle de l’audit de configuration, l’approche offensive est réalisée concomitamment et est composée d’une partie réalisée en boîte noire (sans compte utilisateur) puis d’une partie boîte grise (avec compte utilisateur). Pour ces travaux, Synetis cherchera, à titre illustratif, à mettre en œuvre des attaques MitM par empoisonnement LLMNR/NBNS ou DHCPv6, à réaliser des déplacements latéraux, à élever ses privilèges etc.

L’approche proposée par Synetis (travaux d’audit de configuration en parallèle de tests offensifs AD) permet d’analyser finement la configuration de l’Active Directory, des Domain Controllers, des GPO, des services, de la structure de l’AD, des permissions et comptes à privilèges, etc. Ainsi, à l’issu de cette analyse, une roadmap précise pourra être éditée afin de permettre d’accroître sensiblement la sécurité globale du domaine Active Directory audité.

Construisez votre
Cybersécurité
avec Synetis !