RedTeam

RedTeam missions

Code security audits are part of a set of security audits that evaluate the security level of one or more components of an information system. The review of the source code is a crucial step in identifying the implementations targeted by the analysis and assessing their compliance.

Synetis carries out so-called “Redteam” missions. This type of attack simulates the point of view of an external, motivated attacker, who wants to break into your organization’s network in order to carry sabotage operations, steal strategic data, install ransom software or even persistence software, etc. The Synetis methodology relies on three paths to access the organization’s IS: the computer path (logical intrusion), the cognitive path (social engineering) and the physical path (physical intrusion). These three paths can be used in parallel.

The Redteam approach aims to simulate realistic (non-destructive) attacks, to test in depth the security of a given perimeter. This approach makes for efficiency and means that we can run advanced attack scenarios (logical intrusion, social engineering, phishing,…).

The Redteam is focused on predefined trophies jointly defined between the auditors and the customer (access to the back office of an e-commerce site, to a customer database exfiltration of a CRM database, obtaining a Domain Admin access, AD compromise, detecting a use of a ghost account, access to the messaging system of a VIP, access to an ERP, etc.). These trophies, contextualized, concretely illustrate real risks that can impact the customer. Obtaining these trophies validates the visibility and exposure of the customer to said risks.

As a result, a Redteam approach is not intended to be the most exhaustive in terms of security testing against assets (as opposed to a “classic pentest”); rather, it is oriented towards a global, tactical and efficient compromise in order to get as close as possible to the real trophy attacks.

One of the objectives is to define, for an organization, the impact of a real attack and the cost of the associated measure.

Within the framework of its Redteam missions, Synetis can be led to use up to three different paths: the computer path (logical intrusion), the cognitive path (social engineering) and the physical path (physical intrusion).
  • Logical intrusion tests: mainly remote, this approach aims to identify the external perimeter of the information system and to exploit potential vulnerabilities in order to obtain access to the organization’s internal network. There are three distinct phases:
  1. Open source intelligence phase; this focuses on gathering and analyzing information on the target organization in order to deduce a perimeter that will be validated and/or specified during the mission: physical sites, employees, partners, service providers, information leaks (internal reports, passwords, etc.), information system (public addressing plan)
  2. Discovery phase of the external surface of the information system, aimed at mapping the infrastructures accessible from the Internet: exposed services, technologies used, security equipment, etc.
  3. Offensive test phase on external services, aiming to penetrate the organization’s DMZ by compromising front-end servers, then bouncing back on the internal network
  • Social engineering campaigns: this approach aims to exfiltrate authentication information or penetrate the organization’s internal network by using, for example, phishing techniques. There are three distinct phases:
    1. Profiling phase, to identify a list of people to target for the phishing campaign and collect as much information as possible to develop relevant scenarios.
    2. Define scenarios for the phishing campaign (e.g., sending an e-mail inviting the victim to visit a URL to enter his or her credentials or to download a malicious file containing a backdoor).
    3. Run the campaign, e.g.: send emails, collect indicators (statistics relating to the reception/reading of the email/opening of the malicious link) and obtain access (backdoor or identifiers)
  • Physical intrusion tests: this approach aims to obtain access to the organization’s internal network via a proximity approach that can go as far as physical intrusion of the organization’s premises (head office or subsidiary, for example):
  1. Active recognition phase: perimeter discovery of premises/employees, identification of surrounding wireless networks and offensive tests against it, trashcan searches, malicious USB keys left lying about, etc.
  2. Physical intrusion and placing an implant on the internal network in order to obtain remote access (Wifi or 4G antenna)
  3. Offensive tests on the internal network

At the end of this exercise, which can last several weeks, a list of vulnerabilities will be drawn up by Synetis auditors, along with an action plan. Synetis undertakes to restore the information system to the same state as before the beginning of the exercise. Synetis undertakes to restore the information system to the same state as before the beginning of the exercise.

Build your

Cybersecurity

with Synetis!

RedTeam

L’audit de sécurité de codes fait partie de l’ensemble des audits de sécurité qui permettent d’évaluer le niveau de sécurité d’un ou plusieurs composants d’un système d’information. La revue du code source est ainsi une étape primordiale qui permet d’identifier les implémentations ciblées par l’analyse et d’en évaluer la conformité.

Synetis réalise des missions dites “Redteam”. Ce type d’attaques vise à simuler le point de vue d’un attaquant externe, motivé, ayant pour but de s’introduire sur le réseau de votre organisation en vue d’effectuer des opérations de sabotage, de vol de données stratégiques, d’installation de rançongiciels voire de logiciels de persistance, etc. La méthodologie Synetis s’appuie sur trois voies pour accéder au SI de l’organisation : la voie informatique (intrusion logique), la voie cognitive (ingénierie sociale) et la voie physique (intrusion physique). Ces trois voies peuvent être utilisées en parallèle.

L’approche Redteam vise à simuler des attaques réalistes (non destructives), pour éprouver en profondeur la sécurité d’un périmètre donné. Cette approche permet de gagner en efficacité et de mener des scénarios d’attaque avancés (intrusion logique, ingénierie sociale, phishing, …).

Le Redteam est axé envers des trophées prédéfinis conjointement entre les auditeurs et le client (accès au back-office d’un site e-commerce, à une base de données clientes exfiltration de base CRM, obtention d’un accès Domain Admin, compromission de l’AD, détecter un utiliser un compte fantôme, accès à la messagerie d’un VIP, accès à un ERP, etc.). Ces trophées, contextualisés, permettent d’illustrer concrètement des risques réels pouvant impacter le client. L’obtention de ces trophées valide la faisabilité et l’exposition du client aux dits risques.

En conséquence, une approche Redteam n’est pas vouée à être le plus exhaustive en termes de tests de sécurité à l’encontre des assets (contrairement à un « pentest classique »), mais s’oriente vers une compromission globale, tactique et efficiente afin de se rapprocher au maximum des réelles attaques par le biais des trophées.
Un des objectifs est aussi de définir pour une organisation l’impact d’une véritable attaque et le coût de la mesure associée.

Dans le cadre de ses missions Redteam, Synetis peut être amené à utiliser jusqu’à trois voies différentes : la voie informatique (intrusion logique), la voie cognitive (ingénierie sociale) et la voie physique (intrusion physique).

  • Tests d’intrusion logique : principalement distante, cette approche vise à identifier le périmètre externe du système d’information et à exploiter de potentielles vulnérabilités permettant d’aboutir à l’obtention d’un accès au réseau interne de l’organisation. On distingue trois phases distinctes :
  1. Phase de renseignement en source ouverte, qui se concentre sur la récolte et l’analyse d’informations sur l’organisation cible afin d’en déduire un périmètre qui sera validé et/ou précisé au fil de la mission : sites physiques, employés, partenaires, prestataires, fuites d’information (rapports internes, mots de passe, etc.), système d’information (plan d’adressage public)

  2. Phase de découverte de la surface externe du système d’information, visant à cartographier les infrastructures accessibles depuis l’Internet : services exposés, technologies employées, équipements de sécurité

  3. Phase de tests offensifs sur les services externes, visant à s’introduire dans la DMZ de l’organisation par compromission de serveurs frontaux, puis à rebondir sur le réseau interne
  • Campagnes d’ingénierie sociale : cette approche vise à exfiltrer des informations d’authentification ou s’introduire sur le réseau interne de l’organisation en exploitant par exemple des techniques d’hameçonnage. On distingue trois phases distinctes :
    1. Phase de profilage, pour identifier une liste de personnes à cibler pour la campagne d’hameçonnage et récolter un maximum d’informations pour pouvoir élaborer des scénarios pertinents

    2. Définition de scénarios pour la campagne d’hameçonnage (envoi de mail invitant la victime à se rendre sur une URL pour saisir ses identifiants ou à télécharger un fichier malveillant contenant une porte dérobée, par exemple)

    3. Réalisation de la campagne, par exemple : envoi de mails, récolte des indicateurs (statistiques relatives à la réception/lecture du mail/ouverture du lien malveillant) et obtention des accès (porte dérobée ou identifiants)
  • Tests d’intrusion physique : cette approche vise à obtenir un accès au réseau interne de l’organisation via une approche de proximité pouvant aller jusqu’à l’intrusion physique des locaux de l’organisation (siège ou filiale, par exemple) :
  1. Phase de reconnaissance active : découverte périmétrique des lieux / des employés, identification des réseaux sans-fils environnants et tests offensifs à l’encontre de celui-ci, fouille de poubelles, dépôt de clés USB malicieuses, etc.

  2. Intrusion physique et dépôt d’un implant sur le réseau interne visant à obtenir un accès distant (antenne Wifi ou 4G)

  3. Tests offensifs sur le réseau interne

A l’issue de cet exercice, qui peut s’étaler sur plusieurs semaines, la liste des vulnérabilités sera établie par les auditeurs Synetis, assortie d’un plan d’actions. Synetis s’engage à remettre le système d’information dans le même état qu’avant le début de l’exercice.

Construisez votre
Cybersécurité
avec Synetis !